Information on the earthquake/tsunami

Information on the earthquake/tsunami

11

Published

11 March 2011

Date/time: 14:46 JST (05:46 UTC), 11 March 2011
Epicenter: about 130 km off Pacific coast of the northern part of the main island (Honshu)
Depth: about 24 km
Magnitude: 9.0 (updated from 8.8). The largest earthquake recorded in Japan.

Tsunami warning: The first tsunami warning for major tsunami was issued at 14:49 JST (3 minutes after the occurrence of the earthquake) for the Pacific coast.

Subsequent updates on tsunami warnings and the information on the observed tsunami have been issued.

Observed tsunami: Maximum observed tsunami: 7.3m (or more) at 15:50 JST at Soma station

Damages to JMA facilities: not yet known

Note: Earthquakes occurred prior to this earthquake in the same area
- Magnitude 7.3, 11:45 JST 9 March 2011
- Magnitude 6.8, 06:24 JST 10 March 2011

Northwest Pacific Tsunami Advisory: The first tsunami advisory was issued at 06:01 UTC (15:01 JST) by JMA as the Northwest Pacific Tsunami Advisory Center within the Intergovernmental Coordination Group for the Pacific Tsunami Warning and Mitigation System (ICG/PTWS) of Intergovernmental Oceanographic Commission (IOC of UNESCO).

Responsible national organization and the source of information: Japan Meteorological Agency (JMA)

Further information:

Share this page