58th International Meteorological Organization (IMO) Prize

58th International Meteorological Organization (IMO) Prize

The WMO Executive Council awarded the 58th IM0 prize to:

Dr Tillmann Mohr of Germany on 25 June 2014 for his life-long contribution to meteorology and his promotion of instrumental satellite meteorology for both research and operational work.

Dr Mohr’s involvement with satellite activities started in 1971 and continued for the rest of his career. He was President of the German Weather Service and Permanent Representative of Germany with WMO from 1992 until 1994. He was Director-General of EUMETSAT from 1994–2004.

During a long relationship with WMO dating back to 1970 he chaired a number of key committees. He has been serving as a special advisor to the WMO Secretary-General on space matters and until 2012 on the Global Framework for Climate Services. From 2005–2010 he was a member of the Joint Committee for International Polar Year. He is a member of the Space Advisory Group of the European Commission.

Dr Mohr led several ground-breaking initiatives in satellite meteorology and global earth observations, and promoted their use in developing countries. He was instrumental in the launch of the so-called PUMA programme – the first pan-African technology project to be funded by the European Union – to equip African National Meteorological and Hydrological Services with satellite receiving and processing facilities. PUMA and follow-on efforts are helping African weather services develop applications for water management and food security, thereby contributing to sustainable development.

For many years Dr Mohr worked successfully to turn contingency plans of the Coordination Group for Meteorological Satellites into concrete agreements under which one organization nation steps in to help another if a satellite fails.

The IMO prize originates from the International Meteorological Organization, the predecessor to WMO.


Geneva, 25 June 2014 (left to right): 
Dr Tillmann Mohr, winner of the 58th IMO Prize  Award; David Grimes, WMO President; Michel Jarraud, WMO Secretary-General.

Geneva, 25 June 2014 (left to right): 
Michel Jarraud, WMO Secretary-General; Dr Tillmann Mohr, winner of the 58th IMO Prize  Award; David Grimes, WMO President.


Click here to read the Interview given by Dr Tillmann Mohr to the WMO Bulletin 54 (1) in 2005.