Professor Mariolopoulos Award

Professor Mariolopoulos Award

The WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award was created in 1996 by the Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation for the Environmental Sciences, which is in Athens, Greece. The Award is granted every year in recognition of young scientists for exceptional contributions to meteorology and climatology. 

A WMO trust fund was created in 1996 for the WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award, which is fully financed by the Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation.

The WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award consists of:

  • A US$ 2 000 award.
  • A certificate

The Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation provides an additional US$ 3 000 to the awardee.

Guidelines for WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award

The WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Award recognizes an outstanding research paper in atmospheric sciences that have been published or accepted in a refereed journal by a young scientist (age below 35 years by the date of publication).

The judges are scientists from the WMO, the European Commission and the Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation Board of Trustees. The Secretary-General of WMO is part of the selection committee.

Nominations can be made by:
a. the National Committees of the International Association of Meteorological and Atmospheric Sciences (IAMAS)
b. IAMAS Commissions
c. by the Directors of the National Meteorological Services
d. self-nominations are also accepted.

The nomination should include:
a. three reprints of the paper
b. brief curriculum vitae of the nominee
c. a reference letter by a senior scientist or a Member of the National Meteorological Service

The nominations and the papers must be submitted in one of the official WMO languages (English, French, Spanish, Russian). Non-English papers should be accompanied by a translation in English. The nominations should be sent to:

Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation for the Environmental Sciences

"WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award"

Coumbari 6, 10674, Athens, Greece

Or to

For more information:

List of winners

To see a full list of previous winners, visit the Mariolopoulos Foundation website: