Congress Election Process

Congress Election Process

One of the primary duties of Congress is to elect the President and Vice-Presidents of the Organization and members of the Executive Council other than the presidents of the regional associations (who are Ex-Officio Members of the Executive Council).


The Executive Council is comprised the WMO President and three Vice-Presidents, the six regional association presidents (ex-officio members) and the 27 directors of National Meteorological or Hydrometeorological Services elected by Congress. The distribution of the seats in the Executive Council is as follows (including ex-officio members):

Region I (Africa): 9
Region II (Asia): 6
Region III (South America): 4
Region IV (North America, Central America and the Caribbean): 5
Region V (South-West Pacific): 4
Region VI (Europe): 9

The Secretary-General shall be appointed by Congress on such terms as Congress may approve.

Group horizontal tab

President and Vice-Presidents

Eligibility for election to the offices of President and Vice-Presidents of the Organization is confined to persons who are designated as Directors of their Meteorological or Hydrometeorological Services by the Members of the Organization for the purpose of the Convention of the World Meteorological Organization, as provided for in the Regulations. If the President or a Vice-President of the Organization or an elected member of the Executive Council ceases to be a Director of a Meteorological or Hydrometeorological Service of a Member he shall cease to hold such office.

Appointment of the Secretary-General

The appointment of the Secretary-General according to Article 21 of the Convention shall be by a contract approved in each case by Congress. A Secretary-General may serve a maximum of two four-year terms.

Election new Technical Commissions

Executive Council recommends that the president  and the vice-presidents of each new commission be elected by the 18th Meteorological Congress in June 2019 from amongst current presidents and vice-presidents of technical commissions as a one-time measure aimed at expediting the transition to the new structure.