Structure of the Secretariat

Structure of the Secretariat

The Secretariat is headed by the Secretary-General, who is appointed by the World Meteorological Congress for a four-year term with a maximum tenure of 8 years. The Secretary-General has the responsibility to appoint all Secretariat staff, including the Deputy Secretary-General and the Assistant Secretary-General, in accordance with regulations established by Congress, and with the approval of the Executive Council.


Petteri Taalas

Entities under direct supervision of the Secretary-General

Legal Counsel
Internal Oversight Office
Ethics Office (to be shared with ITU)

Petteri Taalas
WMO Secretary-General


Robert Masters

Cabinet and External Relations Department

Communications and Public Affairs
New York and Brussels liaison offices

Director: Robert Masters

Angiolo Rolli

Resource Management Department

Budget Office
Finance Division
Human Resource Division
Information Technology and Common Services Division
Procurement, Contract Management and Travel Services (PTS) Division

Director: Angiolo Rolli

Elena Manaenkova/WMO

Entities under supervision of the Deputy Secretary-General

Strategic Planning Office
Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), co-sponsored by WMO and UNEP


Elena Manaenkova
Deputy Secretary-General



Research Department

Atmospheric Research and Environment Branch

World Climate Research Programme (co-sponsored by WMO, UNESCO/IOC and ICSU) Joint Planning Staff 

Director: Deon Terblanche

Johannes Cullmann

Climate and Water Department

Climate Prediction and Adaptation Branch
Hydrology and Water Resources Branch
Global Framework for Climate Services
Global Climate Observing System (GCOS) Secretariat (co-sponsored by WMO, IOC/UNESCO, UNEP and ICSU)

Director: Johannes Cullmann

Who is who in the Climate and Water Department

Maja Carrieri

Language, Conference and Publishing Services Department

Linguistic Services and Publishing Branch
Conferences Unit

Director: Maja Carrieri


Wenjian Zhang/WMOEntities under supervision of the Assistant Secretary-General


Wenjian Zhang
Assistant Secretary-General


Xu Tang

Weather and Disaster Risk Reduction Services Department

Meteorological Applications Branch
Disaster Risk Reduction and Service Delivery Branch

Director: Xu Tang

Fernando Belda

Observing and Information Systems Department 

WMO Integrated Global Observing System Branch
WMO Information System Branch

Director: Fernando Belda

Development & Regional Activities Department

Resource Mobilization Office
Office for the Least Developed Countries Programme and Regional Coordination
Regional Offices
Education and Training Office

Director: Mary Power