Met Office and Microsoft share information on what their partnership means for the future of the Met Office (online)

Met Office and Microsoft share information on what their partnership means for the future of the Met Office (online)

Contact:
4

Date

4 October 2021
Co-Sponsors:
WMO
UK Met Office
Location:
Online
Event Date and Time: 12 – 13h UTC (13 – 14h BST, 14 – 15h CEST), Monday, 4 October 2021
Event Organizer: WMO
In April 2021, the UK Met Office signed a multimillion-pound agreement with Microsoft for the provision of a world-leading supercomputing capability that will take weather and climate forecasting to the next level, and help the UK stay safe and thrive. Once up and running, the new supercomputer will help ensure government, industry and communities are better prepared for severe weather and the changing climate through more detailed models, better forecasting of local-scale weather and increased access to greater amounts of weather and climate data.
 
Led by the Chief Executive, Prof Endersby, the Met Office is working with Microsoft to harness their next supercomputing capability and data technologies to deliver scientific and technological innovation for weather and climate forecasting. The audience will hear and understand opportunities arising out of such an innovative partnership to enable better contribution to the society.
 
 

This Innovation Webinar provides the opportunity for participants to learn more about this leading example of public-private engagement, and to ask questions on the value of this partnership, how it started and is progressing.

 

Share this page