Prince of Asturias Award Nomination

Prince of Asturias Award Nomination



13 June 2013

The World Meteorological Organization was one of the candidates for the 2013 Prince of Asturias Prize for International Cooperation. It congratulates the winner, the Max Planck Society for the Advancement of Science, which has fostered close cooperation between research centers and universities around the world and supported young researchers to the benefit of climate science and many other disciplines.

Spain’s national meteorological service, Agencia Estatal de Meteorología (AEMET) nominated WMO for the prize, citing its role in promoting international cooperation in weather, climate and water and in the protection of life and property.

AEMET also singled out the WMO’s World Weather Watch, which was founded 50 years ago and remains a symbol of cooperation born at the height of the Cold War.

WMO and its motto “Working Together for Weather, Climate and Water,” symbolize international cooperation for the sake of humanity, said AEMET.

AEMET plays an active role in WMO’s capacity-development programmes, especially in support in particular of Latin-American and African countries. At its recent annual session, WMO’s Executive Council recognized Spain as host of the first Regional Meteorological Center specialized in Atmospheric Sand and Dust Forecast. A consortium formed by AEMET and  the Barcelona Supercomputing Center (BSC-CNS) will house the center and release operational forecasts of atmospheric mineral dust for Northern Africa, Middle East and Europe.

The Prince of Asturias Awards is bestowed by the Prince of Asturias Foundation. It aims “to reward scientific, technical, cultural, social and humanitarian work carried out at an international level by individuals, institutions or groups of individuals or institutions”. As part of this spirit, the Prince of Asturias Award for International Cooperation shall be conferred on those “whose work with another or others in areas such as public health, universal education, environmental protection and social and economic development, among others, constitutes an outstanding contribution at the international level”.

There were 26 nominations for the 2013 Award, which was announced 12 June.

Further details on the Prince of Asturias Foundation



Share this page