Winners of WMO Calendar Competition

Winners of WMO Calendar Competition



23 December 2020

WMO congratulates all the winners of its 2021 calendar competition for simply outstanding photographs showcasing the theme The Ocean, our climate and weather.

More than 1 100 photographs were submitted to the competition, which has become one of WMO’s most popular fixtures.  Of these, 70 photographs – in keeping with WMO’s 70th anniversary – were selected for public voting on social media.

Following the social media voting, a WMO jury of meteorologists and photographers selected 13 winning photos for the calendar (one per month, plus cover photo). The final selection was based on votes, photographic merit and meteorological interest. The jury also took into account geographical and regional balance in accordance with WMO's stature as a United Nations organization.

In recognition of the outstanding quality of this year’s entries, the WMO jury also selected 13 amazing photos for Honourable Mentions.

It is a privilege and a pleasure to organize the photo competition, which has gained in stature and recognition since it was launched in 2014. The United Nations regularly features the photos. Some National Meteorological and Hydrological Services also run their own photo contests and feed these entries to WMO.

WMO thanks everyone who submitted images in a year overshadowed by the COVID-19 pandemic and the increasing impacts of climate change. We also thank the thousands of people who voted for their favourite photos over on our Facebook and Instagram page.

Many Congratulations!

Winning photographers: 

Zrinka Balabanic (Croatia)
Gonzalo Bertolotto (Chile)
Chan Kam Wing (Hong Kong S.A.R., China)
Chunseong Bang (Republic of Korea)
Will Eades (Australia)
Alberto Flores Fernandez (Chile)
Guillaume Hobam (France) – photo from USA
Shravan Regret Iyer (India) – photo from Madagascar
Ziad Joseph (Trinidad and Tobago)
Marko Korosec (Slovenia) – photo from Faroe Islands
Sandro Puncet (Croatia)
Yoshiaki Sato (Japan)
Vladimir Tadic (Bosnia and Herzegovina) – photo from North Macedonia


Honourable Mentions:

Šime Barešić (Croatia)
Mislav Bilic, Croatia
Diego Ferrer, Argentina
Bruno Gonçalves (Portugal)
Leonor Hernandez (Uruguay)
Boris Jordan (Germany) – photo from Switzerland
Sajal Kumar, India
Taeksu Kim, Republic of Korea
Domcar Lagto (Philippines)
Alfred Lee, Hong Kong SAR, China – photo from Iceland
Emili Vilamala (Spain)
Alens Vimba, United Kingdom, photo from Latvia
Mohammed Auwal Yakubu (Nigeria)

Share this page