WMO awards scientists

WMO awards scientists



9 June 2011

The World Meteorological Organization has awarded scientists for outstanding contributions in the field of meteorology, climatology, hydrology and related sciences.

The scientists were selected by the WMO Executive Council during its annual June meeting.

The prizes awarded include the WMO IMO Prize, the Norbert Gerbier-MUMM International Award and the WMO Research Award for Young Scientists.

IMO prize for lifetime achievement to Professor Aksel Wiin-Nielsen
WMO’s most prestigious award, the IMO prize, originates from WMO’s predecessor, the International Meteorological Organization. The 56th IMO prize has been awarded to the late Aksel Wiin-Nielsen as a lifetime achievement award. Professor Wiin-Nielsen served as WMO Secretary-General from 1980 to 1983. He was previously co-founder and first Director of the European Centre for Medium-Range Weather Forecasts, where his leadership was critical in building the Centre as a world-renowned scientific research and operational institution. He also served as Director of the Danish Meteorological Institute, Professor of Physics at the University of Copenhagen, and Professor Emeritus of the University.

Norbert Gerbier-MUMM Award for carbon-climate links
The Norbert Gerbier-MUMM International Award winners selected for 2012 are Drs C. Yi, D. Ricciuto, R. Li, J. Wolbeck, X. Xu, M. Nilsson and 145 other authors. Their paper, “Climate control of terrestrial carbon exchange across biomes and continents,” was published in Environmental Research Letters in 2010, Volume 5. The authors came from 116 academic institutes in six continents. The paper examines relationships between climate and the carbon exchange of land-based ecosystems to predict future levels of atmospheric carbon dioxide.

2011 WMO Research Award for Young Scientists
The 2011 Research Award for Young Scientists has been conferred to Mr Rudi van der Ent from the Netherlands for the paper "Origin and fate of atmospheric moisture over continents," published in Water Resources Research, Vol. 46, W09525, in 2010. The co-authors were R. van der Ent, H.H.G. Savenije, B. Schaefli, and S.C. Steele-Dunne.

Share this page