WMO Executive Council honours scientists

WMO Executive Council honours scientists



11 July 2012

The World Meteorological Organization’s Executive Council has awarded its most prestigious prize and honoured several distinguished scientists for outstanding contributions in the field of meteorology, climatology, hydrology and related sciences.

Dr Zaviša Janjić won the IMO Prize, the highest award, for his life-long contributions to the advancement of theory and practice of atmospheric modelling and numerical weather prediction. The scope of his scientific interest and expertise is very broad, ranging from all aspects of model dynamics to major aspects of model physics.

Dr Janjić (Serbia  / U.S.A.) is currently a research meteorologist with the U.S. National Center for Environmental Prediction.

The IMO prize originates from WMO's predecessor, the International Meteorological Organization.

Press release


Share this page