WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award for 2014

WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award for 2014



10 July 2013

The “Mariolopoulos-Kanaginis Foundation for the Environmental Sciences” is a non-profit nongovernmental organization aiming at promoting and awarding atmospheric environmental research. The “WMO Professor Mariolopoulos Trust Fund Award”, established by its Board of Directors under the auspices of the World Meteorological Organization (WMO) of the UN, is granted every two years and accompanied by a prize of US$ 2,000 and a Certificate. The Foundation shall provide an additional US$ 3,000 to the awardee.

Nominations for the 2014 award must be submitted by 30 August 2013. The award is granted for an outstanding research paper in atmospheric sciences, published or accepted during the last two years in a refereed journal by a young scientist (age below 35 years by the date of publication). Nominations could be made by the National Committees of the International Association of Meteorological and Atmospheric Sciences (IAMAS), IAMAS Commissions and/or by the Directors of the National Meteorological Services.

Information on how to nominate candidate papers

The 2012 prize was awarded to the following papers:

1. “An Arctic CCN-limited cloud-aerosol regime” by T. Mauritsen, J. Sedlar, M. Tjernström, C. Leck, M. Martin, M. Shupe, S. Sjogren, B. Sierau, P.O.G. Persson, I.M. Brooks and E. Swietlicki , published in Atmospheric Chemistry and Physics (VOL. 11, 2011) and

2. “Observed surface warming induced by urbanization in east China” by X. Yang, Y. Hou and B. Chen, published in the Journal of Geophysical Research (VOL. 116, 2011)

An overview of earlier awards


Share this page