No. 949 - WMO Executive Council honours scientists

No. 949 - WMO Executive Council honours scientists



10 July 2012
Press Release Number:

For use of the information media
Not an official record

WMO Executive Council honours scientists

Geneva, 10 July 2012 (WMO) – The World Meteorological Organization’s Executive Council has awarded its most prestigious prize and honoured several distinguished scientists for outstanding contributions in the field of meteorology, climatology, hydrology and related sciences.

Dr Zaviša Janjic won the IMO Prize, the highest award, for his life-long contributions to the advancement of theory and practice of atmospheric modelling and numerical weather prediction. The scope of his scientific interest and expertise is very broad, ranging from all aspects of model dynamics to major aspects of model physics.

Dr Janjic (Serbia / U.S.A.) is currently a research meteorologist with the U.S. National Center for Environmental Prediction.

The IMO prize originates from WMO's predecessor, the International Meteorological Organization.

A paper that examined the prominent role of human-made aerosols in shaping regional climate change over South Asia won the Norbert Gerbier-MUMM International Award for 2013.  Drs. Massimo Bollasina, Yi. Ming, and V. Ramaswamy authored the paper entitled “Anthropogenic aerosols and the weakening of the South Asian Summer Monsoon” published in “Science” in October 2011, Volume 334, No. 6055.

Dr Bollasina is with Princeton University in (U.S.A.) and Dr Ming and Dr Ramaswamy are with Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory of the National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration of the U.S.A.

The paper noted that observations show that South Asia underwent a widespread summertime drying trend during the second half of the 20th century, but it was unclear whether this trend was due to natural variations or human activities. The authors used a series of climate model experiments to investigate the South Asian monsoon response to natural and anthropogenic forcings. They found that the observed precipitation decrease can be attributed mainly to human-influenced aerosol emissions.

The Executive Council conferred the 2012 WMO Research Award for Young Scientists upon Mr Yijian Zeng (China) for the paper entitled “Numerical analysis of air-water-heat flow in unsaturated soil: Is it necessary to consider airflow in land surface models?” published in J. Geophys. Res., 116, D20107.

The Executive Council awarded thetwenty-thirdProfessorDrVilhoVäisälä Award for an Outstanding Research Paper on Instruments and Methods of Observationto R. Boers, M.J. de Haij, W.M.F. Wauben, H. Klein Baltink, L.H.van Ulft, M. Savenije (all from Netherlands), and C.N. Lonf (USA) for thepaper entitled ”Optimized fractional cloudiness determination from five ground-based remote sensing techniques” published in Journal of Geophysical Research, Vol.115, D24116. It nominated Q. LU (China), W. Bell (UK), P.Bauer (UK), N.N. Bormann (UK), and C. Peubey (UK) for the fourth ProfessorDrVilhoVäisälä Award for the Development and Implementation of the Instruments and Methods of Observation for the paper entitled “Characterizing the FY-3A Microwave Temperature Sounder Using the ECMWF Model” published in Journal of Atmospheric and Oceanic Technology, Vol. 28, p. 1373-1389, 2011.

The Executive Council held its annual session 25 June - 3 July 2012.

The World Meteorological Organization is the United Nations System’s authoritative voice on   Weather, Climate and Water

WMO website:

For more information please contact:

Clare Nullis, Media Officer, Communications and Public Affairs, Tel: +(41 22) 730 8478, e mail: cnullis(at)

Share this page