Regional Offices

Regional Offices

Regional Offices are the main point of contact between Members, in particular the Members' Permanent Representatives to the WMO, and the Secretariat for capacity development aimed at enhancing infrastructure and services, supporting resource mobilization, building partnership and for advocacy-related activities. Regional Offices coordinate technical and institutional support to National Meteorological Hydrological Services, and facilitate cooperation between them.

They are responsible, together with WMO scientific and technical departments and partners, for the implementation of regional technical cooperation and activities in support of countries in transition and developing and least developed countries, including small island developing states and territories. This includes support to the six regional associations, development and implementation of technical cooperation projects and programmes in support of National Meteorological and Hydrological Services, liaison within regional institutions and organizations and resource mobilization. 

Regional Office for Africa

The Office for Africa is headquartered in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia, interfaces with 57 Member States in Africa (WMO Region I), 33 of which are least developed countries.

Regional Office for the Americas

The Regional Office for the Americas (RAM) covers all of South America (WMO Region III) and 13 Member States and Territories in North America, Central America and the Caribbean (WMO Region IV), a total 27 Members. There is a great diversity of climatic zones – from the permafrost of the tundra to deserts. It is, therefore, subject to many different weather and climate impacts such as flooding, hurricanes, sand storms or land slides. 

Regional Office for Asia and the South-West Pacific

The Regional Office for Asia and the South-West Pacific (RAP) interfaces with 35 Members in Asia (Region II) and 24 Members in the South-West Pacific (Region V). It is headquartered in Singapore.

Regional Office for Europe

The WMO Regional Office for Europe is responsible for the coordination of meteorological, hydrological and related activities within Europe (Region VI). It covers 51 Member States, over 20 of which are countries in transition.  It is headquartered at the World Meteorological Organization in Geneva, Switzerland.